Thursday, September 20, 2012

DCMS confirms funding for first 10 super-connected cities

The Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) has today confirmed the funding allocations for the first 10 super-connected cities, which are as follows:
  • Belfast £13.7m
  • Birmingham £10m
  • Bristol £11.3m
  • Cardiff £11m
  • Edinburgh £10.7m
  • Leeds & Bradford (joint bid) £14.4m
  • London £25m
  • Manchester £12m
  • Newcastle £6m
DCMS first announced the list of ten cities on 21st March 2012 as part of the 2012 Budget announcements. From today's DCMS press release:
"The investment, announced today by Culture Secretary Maria Miller, will help the ten cities transform into ‘super-connected cities’.  By offering high-tech and digital companies the infrastructure they need, the cities will be able to compete for business, investment and jobs with the world’s top digital cities. The four UK capital cities along with Birmingham, Bristol, Leeds & Bradford, Newcastle and Manchester will share the funding.  It will help provide businesses with ultrafast broadband (at least 80-100Mbps) and well as high speed wireless Internet access...The total sum allocated to the 10 cities is £114.1 million, which exceeds the £100 million originally allocated to the first round of the super-connected fund.  We expect to manage the costs within the overall £830 million available for broadband."
Cities wishing to participate in the second wave of the programme, which targets smaller cities, had until 17 September 2012 to draw up their detailed Super-Connected City Plans. The winners will be announced in the 2012 Autumn Statement and the money will be available in 2013/14. More on super-connected cities here, here and here.

No comments:

Post a Comment